8b15345v

Doorothea Lange FSA Photograph. Memphis workers crossing the river to work the fields in Arkansas. LOC.

Great deal for corporations! The proposed legislation works to entice the return of overseas profits. But if the money comes home, what will corporations do with the windfall revenues that they were unable to do before?

Think carefully: labor costs (and their global differences!) will still be the same. Sales are not enhanced by returned profits–and neither are domestic investments, which can still be made from domestic revenues. Costs are not cut by returned profits. The incoming revenues might be used for dividends, but it’s highly unlikely. The one likely benefit, albeit unmentioned, is to increase the salaries and bonuses of bosses and managers!

CEOs scream about US corporate taxes, but no matter their home office location, they will not abandon US markets. They simply want to abandon US tax obligations; they frame the argument, as the article does, as an issue of fair share.

Is it “fair share” when companies that make the most seek in the US by comparison to other countries seek to pay the least? While they seek a premium on their stock price, they see no reason to fund the structures of location, labor, education, infrastructure, work ethic, government and law and product demand that are inextricably connected to their success.

So bring the money home and bloat the bottom line. May then all will see “fair share” looks and acts, more and more, like “greed” adding returns to the rich–whose real argument about US taxes is something is better than nothing!

In Old England, the returns of the proposed plan, a fleecing similar to the legerdemain of rogue bands of English pickpockets was called “bunce.” Corporations are simply after the bunce.

How to Stop Turning U.S. Corporations Into Tax Exiles – The New York Times http://nyti.ms/1V9Aun9

A Dispute That Concedes America’s Leadershiip


 

WolcottNatchezMSAdamsAug40 (3)

Marion Post Wolcott. Natchez, MS. LOC.

A bunker mentality cools the GOP ardor over what the world recognizes is a major concern–the effect of changes in the atmospheric composition on global heating and cooling–best seen in the diminishing ice caps clearly visible in year over year photographs. GOP candidates say science is superstition! The evidence is biased! Yet underneath the staged debate is an industry growing globally–one of many industries GOP candidates are willing to concede America’s leadership in policy into a back-of-the-pack position in the creation of jobs and new technology.

Larry Lundgren (his comment) points out the differences in Europe’s home building approaches: they have seen the future and it works! Germany especially has pioneered the passive house, building one community with 5,000 passive homes (overall, Europe has 30K+!). The passive house depends mainly on available and practical construction techniques. Brussels is rewriting its building codes to accelerate their construction. Winter costs of heating (and summer cooling) these homes fall under $10 a month!

The US has 90 passive homes! So far, US states have refused to change their building codes to encourage construction and distribute lowered costs. So ignoring climate change: why not bring down high winter energy bills for the century-long life of a home? It’s a practical benefit even without agreeing on the big picture!

Hope From Paris – The New York Times http://nyti.ms/1OaUULk 


 

(replies) @Walter Rhett
Excellent comment. I could not get the recommend tab to work. Perhaps other readers are having the same problem.

Imagine: Republicans want us to rush to war against ISIS and ignore/deny climate change? That’s right, Republicans think that a lunatic fringe of the Wahhabi cult poses more danger to the most powerful nation in the history of the world than does coastal inundation. Republicans cling to oil and coal while competing nations like Germany, Japan, and China rush to replace addiction to hydrocarbons with renewables. In fact, Republicans are doing everything possible to help ISIS by fomenting fear and following ISIS plan to keep us enslaved to oil and to battle ISIS and Islam. One would think that Republicans are trying to destroy the country, democracy and ruin our economy and end the world. Why would they do that?

The Pete Rose Humbug


8a31110vYumaAZ

If Pete Rose was truly repentant, he would spend the time he devoted into trying to return to baseball and gaining eligibility to the Hall of Fame into national tours on the evils of sports gambling and warning others not to follow in his footsteps. That’s the best way for him to serve the game.

Instead, he wants the game to serve him (to forgive him, to applaud him, to allow him another steal). The commissioner made the right decision.

Dear Pete Rose: It’s Still a No. Sincerely, Baseball – The New York Times http://nyti.ms/1Tibysq

Behind The Numbers


3c30392v

Dorothea Lange FSA Photograph. Mississippi, 1934. LOC.

Around the world, pockets and circles mark poverty–it’s structural many say, others blame corporations and workers (greed and laziness); or national leaders in dictatorships and new democracies (crony thief). But big wheels keep turning out the oil and currency that creates winners and losers–and growth and no growth. What makes this recession different (its political economy!) is that the winners have aligned with non-growth! They prefer to concentrate wealth rather than increase it. They consume more of the global pie rather than make more pies; they prefer to drain rather than feed.

Paul has demonstrated this behavior in numbers, as basic principles, as a conservative and European pattern, and its effects on growth and wages (slow or non-existent!), Yet profits and wealth are increasing at the same time as economies and wages are stagnant; new wealth is being extracted from working wages and family net worth!

Beginning when businesses cut expenses to improve profits, increase by decrease became widely applied during and after the recession through government austerity, corporate cuts and wage tightening and unemployment. The strategy is in oil, as dropping prices run off competition and allow major players a larger share.

Political economy looks at the behavior that drives the numbers, looking for the widest cause, going beyond policy. The answer? It’s still greed. Otherwise, we would be doing fine.

The Not-So-Bad Economy – The New York Times http://nyti.ms/1YTSswl


(reply) The essence of this is spot on, but the left ought to stop anthropomorphizing the corporation as is reflected in the Citizen’s United decision. As corporations are NOT people, there is no such thing as “corporate greed.” This is not a Christmas Carol. “Corporate greed” is a lazy characterization of the evolution of an institution through modifying law and absence of enforcement of safeguards that increasingly transfers wealth to a very elite segment of society. Corporations then act within the confines of that legal framework and compete in a fashion that is sanctioned and natural within it. Calling a corporation “greedy” in that context is akin to saying that a wolf has no manners. Let’s focus on re-establishing the corporate structure that fits within the framework of democracy rather than corporate “greed.” The disposition of the corporation will accordingly follow, and take on less the form of the wolf.

 

Crime And Prison


A commenter wrote: Human rights matter. This reporting with its meticulous detail and documentation shows that without oversight terrible things can happen inside prison walls, even in America. Presenting it as the story not only of a senseless death but also of how it happened and who within the system covered it up for so long gives hope that this kind of abuse can be prevented.
Michael Winerip, Michael Schwirtz and their editors deserve a lot of credit for this public service reporting of the highest calibre.

My own comment: It is a eerie phrase, one hard to imagine as being made up, apart from the witness that it reports, stunning, descriptive words, detached and brutal, the quick verbal shorthand that prisoners develop, a lexicon that sends shivers into the soul: they beat “this kid to zero.” They got away free.

Prison Brutality at Clinton Correctional: Getting the Story – The New York Times http://nyti.ms/1Ti9OPV.

Its Circus Time


WildCircus1936WalkerEvans

Walker Evans FSA Photo. Lynchburg, SC, 1936. LOC.

It’s circus time! The clowns circle and the lion roars! The clowns honk and beep and scoot but don’t fit into the car; they are falling out, throwing confetti for a carnation that will not happen, hiding 3 day stubble under faces of greasepaint smiles. Once in carnivals, men fought live gorillas! Now the lion has a stench which is not frankincense or myrrh. It bombards the air! Behind the laughter is a lot of mean, whose only antidote is a return to a time when segregation divided the seating (and jobs!), women could be beaten bloody by husbands and others (every rough movie had a slap scene), and Jimmy Stewart’s real character gave a moral to The Greatest Show On Earth, lost on these clowns and handlers.

Hey, look me over, lend me an ear; they vie; “if you are down and out the only way is up.” Not so! This crowd of clowns has proven you can go further down. The dregs stick to the clowns and lion feet; footprints that soil democracy, as the crowd cheers the golden mane of fear and the false faces.

An old communist tactic is the show’s center piece: close your eyes; now open them: you see nothing Obama promised! (But virtue is in the heart, not in the hand.) Close them again. Now open them! Don’t worry, we will fill your empty hand; we will, we will! Honk!

Blood, Sweat and Trump – The New York Times http://nyti.ms/1OaPqA5


 

(replies) That’s not water squirting from the petunia in Trumps boutonniere. But it is sterile.


 

“hiding 3 day stubble under faces of greasepaint smiles.”

“the lion has a stench which is not frankincense or myrrh. It bombards the air!”

“The dregs stick to the clowns and lion feet; footprints that soil democracy,”

Love your gift for imagery!

And you are so right about the meanness, absolute baseness, that Trump and his supporters represent.

I always enjoy your comments, which blend intelligence and clarity with meaningful insight.

Continue reading

US army vets are reassuring an 8-year-old Muslim girl who is scared of Donald Trump with ‘#IWillProtectYou’



Melissa Chance Yassini came home from work one day in early December to find her eight-year-old daughter Sofia in tears.

Source: US army vets are reassuring an 8-year-old Muslim girl who is scared of Donald Trump with ‘#IWillProtectYou’

This is a great post! Read it and then judge it!

Privilege: The Perspective of a White Woman – MOGUL


You don’t know what you don’t know. And I sure as hell didn’t know anything until a few years ago. As a member of the White middle-class, I never dealt with my own privilege simply because I did not have to. It wasn’t until my sophomore year of college when my Sociology professor explained the concept to the class. I went on the immediate defense – racked with White middle-class guilt – had I really benefited from a system I didn’t even know existed? It didn’t take long before answering with a resounding, albeit reluctant, “Yes.” I couldn’t see my own privilege until it was shown to me, and I do not apologize for that – I can’t. Because you don’t know what you don’t know. I was perfectly content with my rose-colored glasses, that is, until someone gave me an opportunity to see the world without them. For the last several years I have worked diligently to check my privilege. I realized that the only way I could see my privilege was to rid myself of the guilt, to get over it and focus on the matter at hand. My goal was certainly not to become an unapologetic White woman, but instead to move beyond a barrier that would keep me from thoroughly examining my own advantage. Privilege – like many cultural phenomena – can be a difficult system to explain, and it becomes increasingly difficult to explain to those benefiting from it. My position as a White middle-class woman has given me a unique perspective on privilege, how it is discussed, and how such discussions are received. In exploring my own benefit, and that of others, I was able to see where it was lacking in my life, and the lives of those around me. Privilege has manifested itself in many ways – some more visible than others. Race and ethnicity seem to be at the center stage of the discussion, and rightfully so, but it is important to remember that there are a multitude of other demographics affecting privilege. These other elements are deserving of attention and can be seen in citizenship, religious affiliation, socioeconomic status, education level, physical/mental ability, age, sexual orientation, gender, the list goes on. While I have unquestionably benefited from privilege based on my race, education level, religion, and socioeconomic status, my gender is what allows me to see the topic from a different yet unforced perspective. While I may never fully grasp (my) privilege in its entirety, my aim is to educate myself and others to the best of my abilities. Though its existence is often disputed, I can tell you as a White woman that privilege does exist: Because historically, my hair in its natural state has never been controversial. Because I can almost always find Band-Aids, tights, and makeup in my shade. Because my skin tone may get me teased, but it will never get me killed. Because “boys will be boys” has trumped my autonomy. Because if my name were spelled differently, it would be “creative” or “eccentric” rather than “weird” “wrong” or “ghetto.” Because if I found myself in the “wrong” part of town someone would make sure I got home safe, rather than question my motives. Because when I am angry, the first thing I am asked is if I am on my period. Because I feel comfortable and safe going to the police for help. Because if I am out after dark, I am constantly looking over my shoulder. Because when I choose to speak in slang it is seen as “hip,” not “uneducated” or “ignorant.” Because most every choice I make can somehow be tied back to my virtue, self-worth, and whether or not I meet the criteria of a “lady.” Because if I speak Standard English no one will remark on how eloquently I speak – for a white person. Because if I am opinionated or outspoken I can be called a bitch, bossy, or annoying – rather than a leader. Because no one will ever question whether I was placed at a job or accepted by a university in order to meet a quota based on the color of my skin. Because I can be accused of sleeping my way to the top rather than earning what I have achieved. Because making me feel accepted is the default, and not an afterthought. Because someone felt it was their right to grope, grab, and whistle at me – and then became angered when I protested. Because my race is not fetishized. Because if I slept with someone from work I would be scowled at, gossiped about, ostracized, and slut-shamed, rather than high-fived. Because my entire culture hasn’t been reduced to an aisle in a grocery store or a misrepresented holiday. Because there is a “W” in WNBA, but men’s basketball is referred to simply as the NBA. Because I could count all the children of color in my elementary school on two hands. Because if I take up space it is rude and improper, not the norm. Because people don’t wonder whether my mother is a single parent or if my father is in jail. Because I can go

Source: Privilege: The Perspective of a White Woman – MOGUL