Yes, I’m a nine-year-old girl. But I’m still a serious reporter | Hilde Kate Lysiak | Opinion | The Guardian


I didn’t start publishing Pennsylvania’s Orange Street News so that people would think I’m cute. I want to get the truth to people, even if it makes grownups mad.

My parents and I have also been warned that covering this story meant my reporting was no longer “cute”. I don’t think people should be able to decide for me who I should be and what I should be doing. I never began my newspaper so that people would think I was cute. I started the Orange Street News to give people the information they need to know.

I want to be taken seriously. I’m sure other kids do, too. Grownups usually treat kids like they cannot do anything great. If adults don’t think we can do something, then it is hard for us to believe that we can. And then how will we have great things in this world?

Source: Yes, I’m a nine-year-old girl. But I’m still a serious reporter | Hilde Kate Lysiak | Opinion | The Guardian

Make History: Leave A Comment

