TSA Hair Search Problem – Why Black Women Are Standing Up to the TSA | Teen Vogue


My traveling nightmare.

From the moment I started tweeting about my TSA/natural hair fiasco in Chicago, I received hundreds of mentions and retweets from other black women on Twitter telling me their stories. So many of us agreed that going through TSA security lines was so much more stressful than actually traveling on the plane. It is a constant fight — a white woman grabbing my hair in an aggressive manner, me reacting to this sudden painful intrusion, and being afraid of being placed on the TSA No-Fly list or some other punishment for reacting. You’re always hoping beyond hope for a black woman to be there on the other side of the body scanner to provide some form of comfort.

Source: TSA Hair Search Problem – Why Black Women Are Standing Up to the TSA | Teen Vogue

Make History: Leave A Comment

